top of page

In Flight: Piano Solos

Fortuna Records, 1986

Screen Shot 2019-03-21 at 3.45.39 PM.png

In Flight is a collection of original piano solos in both just intonation and standard piano tuning. In the artistic hands of pianist and composer Michael Harrison, contemporary acoustic piano finds a new elegance and clarity of lyric expression. Blending classical, impressionistic, and jazz influences, his melodies and rhythms can be energetically in flight or as intimate as a breath of air against distant wind chimes. They remain most memorable for their subtle power and emotional grace. In fact, the title track was used by Columbia Pictures in the movie trailers and television advertisements for the Academy Award winning movie Awakenings.

Harrison is one of the new wave of composers working with just intonation, an ancient tuning system which is based on natural acoustic intervals. Both Because of You and The Swan Has Flown to the Mountain Lake are presented here in this special tuning. Characterized by poignant melodies, rich harmonies, and layers of rhythmic patterns, his sounds are technically adept and deeply emotional.



1. In Flight 5:56

2. The Swan Has Flown to the Mountain Lake 7:04

3. Because of You 4:02

4. Echo of Time 3:47

5. The Joy of Life 3:32

6. Ocean Dance 4:33

7. Winter's Dream 5:44

8. Mira 5:44

Featured in Awakenings starring Robert De Niro and Robin Williams

bottom of page